“Show me yours” (8/30) – NaPoWriMo 2014

Tell me about yourself.
Tell me your best childhood memory.
Tell me your worst.
Tell me when you first fell in love.
Where you had your first kiss.
Where you had your first good kiss.
Tell me if you can still taste that kiss on your lips when you lie awake at night.

Tell me when you first knew what heartbreak feels like.
Tell me when was the last time you felt it.
And if you believe that now you’ve felt it once you can still feel it
Just a tiny little bit
All the time.

Tell me about your favourite tree to climb.
And how old you were when you realised climbing trees wasn’t cool.
And how old you were when you realised that you were wrong
And that climbing trees was the coolest thing that has ever happened
And that damned if you’d ever grow up.

I still climb trees.
I still feel heartbreak.
And I can still taste her kiss on my lips
Just like the first time.

09/04/14
© 2014 Bonnie Calderwood Aspinwall

Leave a comment